Students in front of the Bibliotheca Albertina of the University of Leipzig.

Research Ambassadors

DAAD Research Ambassadors are scholars and scientists in Australia who have conducted advanced long-term research projects in Germany and are interested in promoting research in Germany at their home universities and among their peers and students.

What Our Research Ambassadors Do

The main responsibility of a DAAD Research Ambassador is to promote research opportunities in Germany in his/her professional community, university or organisation, and discipline.

This can take the form of:

  • Contacting departmental chairs and senior administration officers to share information about study and research opportunities in Germany, including DAAD grants and other organisations' funding programs
  • Arranging an informational meeting on campus for students in their department and/or prospective applicants to DAAD programmes
  • Providing advice and support to students and researchers interested in pursuing academic activities in Germany in his/her field from any university or institution in Australia – and potentially doing the same for German DAAD grantees currently studying in Australia.

Please note that this is a voluntary post with no compensation available. However, DAAD will make reimbursements available upon request to cover expenses related to production of promotional materials or for refreshments at meetings or informational events.

At the end of each semester, each Research Ambassador is asked to submit short reports to DAAD Australia with any important contacts made and meetings organised.

Become a Research Ambassador

Are you interested in becoming one of our Research Ambassadors? Our Research Ambassadors

  • have completed a total of at least 10 months conducting research in Germany at the doctoral level or above
  • are familiar with the current research landscape in Germany for their respective discipline
  • are willing and able to attend an anual DAAD Research Ambassadors Training Workshop in Sydney.

Scholars and scientists from all disciplines are invited to apply. Applications will be accepted from all "Germany Alumni", including DAAD alumni. German nationals who studied in Germany at the doctoral level but are now living and researching in Australia are also welcome to apply.

Research Ambassador terms are for two academic years, and can be renewed. Travel arrangements for the anual Research Ambassadors Training Workshop are covered by DAAD.

The next application round will be in 2021.

Meet Our Current Research Ambassadors

Jörg Baumeister Professor for Architecture and Urban Design
Griffith University
School of Engineering and Built Environment -
Architecture and Design
Research interests:  Ecological Cities, Affordable Housing,
Design Innovation
j.baumeister@griffith.edu.au
Andrew Beattie Associate Professor in German and European Studies
University of New South Wales (UNSW)
School of Humanities and languages
Research interests: Politics of History and Memory in Germany, Transitional Justice
a.beattie@unsw.edu.au
Stefan Bode Associate Professor in Cognitive Psychology
University of Melbourne
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
Research Interests: Cognitive Neuroscience
sbode@unimelb.edu.au
Franz-Josef Deiters Associate Professor in German Studies
Monash University
School of Language, Literature,  Culture and Linguistics
Research interests: German Literature, Mediology of Theatre, Literary and Philosophical Aesthetics, Theory of Authorship
Franz-Josef.Deiters@monash.edu
Laura Ginters Senior Lecturer
Department of Theatre and Performance Studies
University of Sydney
Research interests: Historical Rehearsal Process in Germany, Translations of German and Austrian Plays
laura.ginters@sydney.edu.au
Stefan Hajduk Head of German Studies
University of Adelaide
School of Humanities
Research interstes: Literary Theory and History, Aesthetic Space and Borderland Phenomena, European Realism
stefan.hajduk@adelaide.edu.au
Anthony Halog Lecturer
University of Queensland
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Research interests: Circular Bioeconomy, Industrial Ecology, Environmental Systems Modelling and Analysis, Green Economy
a.halog@uq.edu.au
Thomas Haselhorst Associate Professor
Institute of Glycomics
Griffith University
Research interests: Structural Glycoscience, Implementation of NMR  Spectroscopy and Molecular Modelling Methods
t.haselhorst@griffith.edu.au
Alexandra Ludewig Head of School
School of Humanities
University of Western Australia
Research interests: Contemporary Austrian, German and European Literature, Film and Society
alexandra.ludewig@uwa.edu.au
Alex Maier Associate Professor
School of Biology
Australian National University (ANU)
Research interests: Parasitology, Malaria Research
alex.maier@anu.edu.au
Michael Netzel Senior Research Fellow
Centre for Nutrition and Food Sciences
University of Queensland
Research interests: Phytochemicals and Health
m.netzel@uq.edu.au
Daniela Ottmann Associate Professor in Architecture
Faculty of Society & Design
Bond University
Research interests: Architecture and Urban Design in
socio-cultural, politico-economic and bio-climatic
environments in Europe, MiddleEast, Australia, Africa and China
dottmann@bond.edu.au
Eugen Petcu Senior Lecturer
School of Medicine
Griffith University
Research interests: Pathology
e.petcu@griffith.edu.au
Joachim Ribbe Professor in Climatology
School of Sciences
University of Southern Queensland
Research interests: Global Climate Processes, Physical Oceanography
Joachim.Ribbe@usq.edu.au
Nicole Rijs Lecturer, Scientia Fellow and ARC DECRA Fellow
School of Chemistry, Science
University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Research interests: Mass spectrometry as a probe for molecular self-assembly
n.rijs@unsw.edu.au
Raj Sharma Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering
School of Engineering & Technology
Central Queensland University (CQUniversity)
Research interests: Landslides, Floods, Soil Erosion, Hydrology and Water Quality
r.sharma@cqu.edu.au
Elke Stracke Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and TESOL
Associate Dean Research, Programme Director TESOL/ Foreign Language Teaching (FLT)
Faculty of Education
University of Canberra
Research interests: Applied/Educational Linguistics (Community Language Learning, Motivation, Autonomy, Blended and Independent Language Learning, Curriculum Development)
Elke.Stracke@canberra.edu.au
Joe Tiralongo Associate Professor
School of Environment and Science
Research Leader Institute for Glycomics
Institute for Glycomics Griffith University
Research interests: Glycobiology, Sialic Acid Biology and Glycomics Microaarays
j.tiralongo@griffith.edu.au
Clemens Ulrich Associate Profesor
School of Physics, Science
University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Research interests: Electronic and Magnetic Properties of Condensed Matter; Superconductivity, Nonlinear Optics and Spectroscopy
c.ulrich@unsw.edu.au